Tags

, , ,

All you need is a start.

1. I am capable of writing over 12k words in a week, possibly even more than that.

Aside from an initial flare of panic on the first day that paralyzed me from starting for a few hours, this first week, I’ve hardly felt like I was pushing myself to write. The amount I wrote felt startlingly comfortable, and even easy. What’s more, I want to spend more time writing.

2. Maybe I should try pants-ing it more often.

I started this new novel with a clear sense of the main character’s voice and only two scenes, the ending being one of them, in mind. I still have no idea what is going to happen next, beyond maybe the next two scenes, and it makes writing exciting. And I don’t have an outline, a huge first for me. If this is how the pants-ing it other half lives, I might need to indulge that side more often.

3. What you think is crap when you’re first writing it, might not be so bad after all.

The first scene I wrote, I wanted to delete it all. I didn’t, and kept going. A little bit later, I went back and read the first scene and…it was actually pretty good. If I had listened to my internal editor, it would be toast. But instead, I embraced the NaNo spirit and didn’t revise while writing.

4. That graph is a carrot.

I don’t know why, but I love seeing my word count go up on the graph they have. It, to me, is more motivating and lets me see progress more than a little bar that increases slightly as I work toward the goal.

5. I want to do this full time so badly.

I mean it. I forget that when I’m revising and even when I’m in the middle of writing sometimes. But this, the rush of creation in the first draft and the joy of simply letting the words flow, this is why I want writing books to be my real job. This is why I write away my time while my friends go off to parties or movies or other normal life things.

