Tags

, ,

If I seemed to have disappeared, it’s because I was a) utterly distracted by my up-coming vacation or b) in the middle of my vacation. What could have a girl so distracted from writing and updating? Why that would be San Diego Comic-Con.

Behold the Convention Center of DOOOM!

Behold the Convention Center of DOOOM!

Honestly, I could sum it up easily as, it was frakking awesome. And it was. It was also ginormous and overwhelming and super tiring. But mostly it was awesome.

I spent the majority of my time at book panels or on the exhibit hall floor, where the amount of glorious advertisement is outweighed only by the amount of people and seriously awesome cosplay. I waited in so many lines, but not the epic lines of Hall H or Ballroom 20. Those panels usually get recorded, so why bother? The small panels, though, if you aren’t in them, you never know what you missed and usually can never see them. And sometimes you miss awesomeness. I think the largest ones I went to were for Lost Girl (which is a great Canadian TV show about a fae underworld through the eyes of an unaligned, bisexual succubus) and Neil Gaiman. Both were utterly worth it. But some of my favorites were also the panels on YA books, and the random ones I got to see while waiting, like the one on a Congressman’s memoir graphic novel.

One of the lego walls on the exhibit hall floor

One of the lego walls on the exhibit hall floor

So now, I’m home in Texas. I miss the Californian weather and the exhilaration of being at the convention, but in many ways, I’m just as pumped to be back. I took a break from writing on my WIP while in San Diego, and now that I’m home, I’m itching to work on it. Comic-Con is certainly inspiring from a writing perspective, if only because of the amazing artwork that surrounds you and the stories you get from meeting tons of people from all over the globe. Plus, the book/writing panels got me thinking and making notes in the middle of them as well.

