Tags

,

About two months ago, Maureen Johnson, a YA novelist wrote this article about book covers which goes along nicely with this other article about the marketing of books based on gender. Specifically, both articles are about how the preceived gender audience of a book affects how that book is sold, regardless of the merit of the story or writer.

I’m not about to rehash the eloquent points already made, but the cover discussion connects back to a debate that been going on the past couple of years about fiction writers who happen to be women. Some of the worst of it started two years ago here when a couple of popular female writers pointed out that they don’t get the same respect for what they write as their male counterparts. If there’s any question in the validity of their statement, look at the NY Times Bestselller List. Yes, there are females listed on there, but those of us without a Y-chromosome are, well, still underrepresented in the grand scheme, and definitly not commended on writing works of literary merit.

Yet in spite of this, there are still those who think some genres (such as YA) don’t have “enough” options for boys, like this guy Yet, looking at this study, it clearly ain’t so.

I’m not going to bash male writers. That would be cruel and a waste of time. And it would be pretty much hypocritical since I like tons of books written by dudes. I also like tons of books written by ladies.

So no bashing. Instead, I want to laud the lady writers I admire, women who have influenced my writing and thoughts. True, my list is not as long as I’d like it to be, but I certainly believe it can be expanded. And in hopes that it can, I’d like to give a nod to one writing lady a week. Recommendations are heartily welcome. After all, I can always use more books to read.

