Tags

, , ,

I ran my first game on Sunday. I’ve never had so much fun and been so freaked out at the same time. Fortunately, my players were all great and seemed to have as much fun as I did, and Lady Awesome was around to help whenever I got into trouble plot-wise. In all, it was rough in parts, but a success. And surprisingly draining.

As far as knowing what to work on for next time, well, no one gave me anything in particular in the criticism department, but I think I know where my weaknesses are. For some reason, I didn’t realize that running a game would mean making decisions constantly. I’m usually inclined to be “whatever,” when people suggest things, and it’s totally new to me to say “yes,” or “no,” based on my opinion alone. But I’m prepared for that now. I’m also prepared to have more things printed out so I don’t have to constantly look crap up on my phone. Or maybe I should invest in a tablet…

While running my game was amazing and I can’t wait for the next one, it was exhausting. No, seriously, I put so much into planning and doing other stuff this weekend that I ran myself beyond ragged. I managed to wake up and do some things, but it was kind of a blur as to what actually happened yesterday. I spent most of the day thinking about sleeping, and then proceeded to sleep like the dead once I finally had the chance to lay down. I went to bed a little after eight. Eight. Who over the age of twelve and under the age of seventy goes to bed that early?

But I’m back, and better and wiser than I was prior to the weekend. I don’t know when I’ll run my next gaming session, but it probably won’t be until sometime in March. I now have a new deadline staring at me, the one I spent the last two weeks ignoring.

Did I mention I like to avoid things?

Anyway, I’m going to this writing workshop the first weekend in March. I have most of a rough draft of a novel to take along, but…it’s not finished and it’s a giant mess at the beginning. And I kind of want to shiny it up as well as I can before I let other people tear it to shreds. I mean, if I’m going to learn anything, I want to put my best forward. Perhaps there will be more tears then, but it’s a risk I’m willing to take.

So over the next few weeks, my posts will largely be about writing or angsting about writing or avoiding writing or any other variant related to writing. True, if anything actually exciting in my real life happens, it’ll show up here. But until the first weekend in March, I’m going all in on this novel. Hopefully the odds will turn out in my favor.

