Tags

,

I have a confession to make. I’m a gamer.

Okay, so I’m not a gamer in the video game sense or computer games. Then how dare I call myself a gamer? Because I’m a closet tabletop RPG gamer.

I never intended to be one. I mean, people who do role playing with dice and silly rules are obviously social inept and have no life. This is a lie. They are generally on the nerdy side, but more importantly they’re super creative and just like to use their imaginations. In short, they are my people. And somehow I have ended up running my first game tomorrow.

I’m not entirely surprised, I guess. I love to tell stories. Role playing is one of the few collaborative storytelling outlets available to those of us considered to be “adults.” And I’m completely into it and nervous about tomorrow. What if people hate my story? What if everyone is bored? This, of course, is mostly worst case scenario girl on the loose and what has had me distracted all week.

In spite of my insecurities, everyone playing has told me how excited they are for tomorrow. And well, it helps. It’s nice to have people believe in you.

Also, ponies and gaming. Friendship is Dragons

