Tags

I don’t know how to make a blog. I don’t know what to write. I don’t think I can do this.

I don’t.

I don’t.

I don’t.

I tried to use those excuses, but my friends, as always, called me on my BS. So this is me, killing the “I don’t…” or at least, proving one of my excuses wrong today. I do know what to write. It’s simply easier to avoid writing than to actually sit down and type.

I’ve spent most of my life trying to avoid situations. I moved to Dallas to avoid my family. I watch way too many shows online to avoid doing laundry and dishes and other adult things, like taxes. I snark at or intimidate most guys to avoid dating them. I write and make art to avoid real life. If there was a position for a professional avoider, I could nail the job…except, I’d probably avoid applying for it.

All of this avoiding, however, has become rather counterproductive. Who knew? So I’m attempting to face the things I avoid, to find out how to be someone who runs toward things rather than away from them, as it were. And blogging is my first step.

So for those of you reading this, thanks, and be forewarned that to stop avoiding blogging, I am going to blog something every day for the next year. It may be pictures of cute animals. It may be a rant about my friends or city traffic or some dude I’m unsuccessfully avoiding. It may be pictures of my art or knitting. It may be music. I have no idea! But I won’t avoid, not this place. And with a little bit of luck and stubbornness, maybe I can figure out how to stop avoiding life too in the process.

